Townfoot Cottage, Elterwater - reviews

Townfoot Cottage Reviews

See what our previous guests have to say about Townfoot Cottage….

Fantastic cosy little cottage The cottage was lovely and clean and very cosy. Beds were comfortable and the cottage was equipped with all you would need like home from home. No garden to let the dog out into so always had to take him up the road, but the views made this no hardship. Lovely walks from the cottage. A walk to the Talbot Inn was perfect. They are dog friendly and the food was lovely. Even do food for dogs! Would definitely stay again as perfect :o)

Karen O.
12 Oct 2019

We’ve had a great week. The cottage and Elterwater are perfectly placed for exploring some of the best peaks and Elterwater itself has the most beautiful surrounding views from the village.
A great pub in the village is a short stroll away, good food too.
The cottage is small but comfortable and had all that we needed.
This is a gorgeous area of The Lakes and we’ll be back for sure.

Sarah
31 Aug 2019

The perfect place for a week's walking Townfoot Cottage provided us with an excellent base for a week's walking. The cottage itself was very comfortable and the kitchen well equipped. The beds were comfy and the shower was fab! Having a dishwasher and washing machine was a real bonus too. We enjoyed visiting The Britannia pub, literally a couple of minutes walk from the cottage, and the local shop had everything we needed. All in all it was the perfect base to explore the Lake District and we had a fabulous week.

Emma P.
19 May 2019

Perfect Townfoot cottage perfect’ so cosy.
Rainfall shower was heaven.
So much bigger than we imagined.
Parking outside the front door a massive bonus.
Wonderful cottage in a wonderful village.
We will return for certain

N B.
10 May 2019

A lovely cottage in an ideal location. A return visit to this lovely, comfortable cottage. Smart, clean and well equipped, and very comfy beds too. An ideal ‘park up the car’ base as everything you may need is within easy reach. The lack of outside space isn’t an issue for the dogs as you are literally on the edge of the common.
Choice of pubs/cafe’s and walks all along the Langdale valley make it a great base for a holiday, and we look forward to yet another visit, hopefully next year.

Helen E.
09 Apr 2019

Cosy elterwater retreat Tidy well presented property in ideal Lake District location.
Beds really comfortable and house has very practical layout
Great walks from the door and pub in village
Alun very helpful and contactable
Had no rain all week!

Bryan P.
04 Apr 2019

Cosy cottage in lovely quiet location We enjoyed a week in this lovely cottage a stones throw from the hearty pub food on offer at the Britannia Inn and a great spot from which to enjoy some stunning Lakeland walks. The fabulous cottage had everything we needed and even had a lovely log fire for cosy nights in. We couldn’t fault it!

Jenny A.
04 Mar 2019

Warm and welcoming, ideal location. Warm and welcoming, nicely equipped cottage, range of walks on doorstep, best food and atmosphere at Britannia Pub. Highly recommended

Simon D.
22 Nov 2018

Lovely cottage in great location The cottage was lovely and very well equipped with good quality items. The beds were comfortable and well decorated, and there was plenty of space in the living area. The bathroom and kitchen were both new and modern and contained everything that we could need. The location was great, central for all the places that we wanted to go to with lovely walks on the doorstep. There is a pub and a cafe within walking distance, both of which provided great food and drinks. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Megan R.
07 Nov 2018

Lovely cottage, lovely location. We had a great stay at Townfoot cottage. It's perfectly located, with great walks straight from the door. The cottage is modern and very well maintained. It's a two minute walk to the pub (Britannia Inn) and 10 minute walk to The Eltermere (which serves excellent food). There is also a co-op in Chapel Stile (5 min drive). Would definitely go back.

John J.
06 Nov 2018

Alan’s home is comfortable with very modern amenities. The area of Elterwater, and Cumbria in general, is fantastic. Lots of wonderful walks right from the front door. Great restaurants and pubs abound. A wonderful week in spite of the weather.

Nigel
22 Sep 2018

A comfortable cottage in a great location. A very well equipped cottage in a scenically attractive area.Once we had arrived there was little need for a car; the walks from the cottage are superb, just what we wanted.

Peter B.
18 Sep 2018

Fantastic cottage in a lovely location We had a fantastic week in Townfoot Cottage, it is a lovely cottage, well equipped and is in a wonderful location in the heart of the Lake District. We will definitely be returning again.

Mike C.
06 Sep 2018

A cosy cottage in the beautifull surroundings of Lake District. Highly recommended to have a wonderfull stay in nature! We loved it.

Tanja
28 Jul 2018

A beautiful cottage in a fantastic location!! We had a fantastic week in Elterwater. The cottage was beautifully finished and superbly located only a 2min walk to the village green with a local pub and cafe. We will be recommending to all friends and family wanting to stay in the area!!

David H.
24 May 2018

Great place to stay and relax amazing This is without doubt one of the best properties we have stayed at during our many years of travelling. There was absolutely nothing negative to say about it . The area and the like local pubs are great and to come back to this property after a great day sight seeing and walking makes our weeks holiday and one we will remember for a long time
Thanks Helen and Sean Birmingham 17th - 24th March 2018

Sean C.
30 Mar 2018

Excellent dog friendly cottage and location 🙂 This is our 2nd stay at this cottage,
we've also stayed at the owners other cottage in Troutbeck.
We highly recommend both properties, they're both decorated to a high standard and are very comfortable, a welcome pack of logs for the fire is also a nice touch. Their location is excellent for both fell walking and country pubs. We will definitely return!

Rachel S.
29 Jan 2018

Excellent Customer Service Unfortunately we had to postpone our planned visit for this time, but was really impressed by owner Alun’s response to our cancellation. He provided immediate repayment of our deposit , which also gives us a very good impression to his level of service and focus on customer satisfaction.
John,
The Netherlands

John W.
25 Jan 2018

Townfoot Cottage is a super place! We have just returned from Townfoot Cottage in Elterwater.
The Cottage was well furnished/equiped - - nice comfy beds, fluffy white bath towels, fully kitted out modern kitchen with everything you could want for your holiday stay - including a Bosch dishwasher, built in microwave oven and high tech. electric oven/hob etc.
The Utility Room/drying room was brilliant for all of our wet clothes and there was a washer/dryer which proved useful on a couple of occasions too. The LOCATION was brilliant and we'd recommend the food at the Britannia Pub just a hop skip and a jump away from the cottage - - - - and Chesters by the River - Skelwith Bridge.
Elterwater really is a such a pretty place to stay - we are looking forward to a return visit next year! :o)

Mrs. Susan B.
09 Sep 2017

Fantastic Holiday in the Lakes Really enjoyed our stay in this very cosy cottage in the beautiful village of Elterwter. With great walks and good pubs and restaurants on your door step. Highly recommended.

Anne C.
30 Aug 2017

Cosy, well-appointed, well-equipped, beautiful location We spent a fabulous week here with our 10- and 12-year-olds, and Townsfoot cottage was perfect for what we needed - a base from which to explore one of our favourite corners of the Lakes. Circular walks from the front door with no need to drive somewhere and park was an additional bonus for us.
Everything was as you would want to for a week of walking, biking and boating - the weather was relatively kind to us, and every evening we came back to a cosy comfortable home-from-home to relax in.
The kitchen isn't overly well equipped for adventurous cheffing, but was perfectly adequate for our family meals 🙂 and having a washing machine was invaluable.
Thank you

Claire K.
02 Aug 2017

Lakes July 2017 Lovely week. Cottage is well appointed and in a superb location, ideal to visit anywhere within the Lake District. Lots of walks and places to visit.

Sue F.
15 Jul 2017

Townfoot cottage is a great place to stay The cottage is everything it describes itself as, cosy rooms that are tastefully decorated and well appointed. The drying room/washing facilities were great but unfortunately need as we enjoyed more than our fair share of rain, this didn't stop us enjoying our stay. The walks from the doorstep take some beating and having a lovely pub with beer garden at the end of the lane to return to after a hard days slog was always a welcome bonus. We loved the overall feel of this cottage, from the log fire to the sheep on the doorstep.
Elterwater is a picture perfect village and we will be back again soon.
Richie, Kate and Freya

Richie H.
20 Jun 2017

Fantastic Cottage The cottage was fantastic, very comfortable and clean. Elterwater is a wonderful position to explore all of the Lake District with lots of varied walks right from the door.
Definitely be back !

Alison W.
05 Jun 2017

Fantastic The cottage was lovely. Very clean and comfortable with fabulous views. The location is ideal with lovely pubs on the doorstep and all are dog friendly. We will be coming back.

Emma S.
28 May 2017

Good location and excellent facilities, lovely cottage. The cottage was well appointed which led to a lovely relaxing week in the heart of Langdale.

ANTHONY M.
07 May 2017

A very comfortable and well equipped cottage. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Townfoot, the cottage was clean, well equipped and the beds were very comfortable. Ideally situated and just a stroll from the pub, essential after a day on the fells, which are all easily accessed from the cottage - a car free week! Groceries available from the stores just a short walk away in a very well stocked shop. When eating out we used The Wainwrights and were never disappointed and a lovely lunch was had in the Eltermere, again very nearby. The ONLY issue was that the smoke detector was a little too enthusiastic but we soon learnt to put the toaster under the cooker hood!
A little message from Alun to check that all was well was nice to receive and we had no problem's at all.
A great place to stay and we look forward to a return visit,
Thanks Alun.

Helen E.
11 Apr 2017

so unusual. quaint x lots of history. great location.

Gilly L.
10 Feb 2017

Brilliant week away A beautiful cottage in a stunning location, lovely kitchen which had everything we needed and all the appliances were very high quality. Alun responded to a query we had promptly. The log burner in the lounge kept us cosy! We also found the cupboard under the stairs great for drying walking boots and coats. Looking forward to our next visit!

Emma S.
07 Jan 2017

Elterwater Cottage at Christmas We booked the cottage in Elterwater for the Christmas week and we were delighted by the whole experience. The cottage is perfect....beautifully equipped and very cosy and comfortable. It's location means that there are plenty of beautiful walks right from the door and the village was so quiet and peaceful at that time of year.
The cottage had a very homely feel and we would love to return in the future.

Jane L.
06 Jan 2017

Perfect cottage in beautiful setting Our second visit as we loved it the first time. Great walks straight from the door, friendly pubs with good food in walking distance . Alun came straight round to sort minor problem.

Fiona R.
20 Dec 2016

elterwater cottage Great quality of accommodation with everything you need and in a good location. Unfortunately the weather was so poor we left early. This was nothing to do with the accommodation which was of very good quality. Minor issue: there was no sign on the cottage to tell us it was the right one. Had to go to the pub down the road to find out. Can I suggest a name plate.

alan gill
02 Oct 2016

Beautiful Cottage Absolutely beautiful cottage in a fantastic and stunning location. We found the cottage very clean and well maintained, the decor was lovely with very modern facilities. It was so lovely to come back to at the end of a very busy day, Our family didn't want our stay to end. Alun Knott provided excellent customer service and always answered any queries very promptly prior to our stay. The cottage located in beautiful Elterwater, with the Britannia Pub just a walk up the road was a lovely, traditional country pub where they served beautiful food. Great location for walks, cycling etc. Would recommend a climb up 'Old Man Coniston', with fantastic views from the top. Also would recommend Low Wood Bay Watersports for any waters activities. We had a wonderful morning Kayaking etc and Angus and staff were so helpful, knowledgeable and re-assuring. Our family said this was one of our best holidays and can't wait to come back to the Lake District. I would certainly recommend staying at Townfoot Cottage and hope to return in the near future. Thanks again Alun and Staff.

Shaun S.
16 Aug 2016

Lovely cottage in a fantastic location The property has been very tastefully renovated with top notch appliances in the kitchen etc. We were a party of four adults and a Labrador and there was certainly no problem with space, which has been utilised to the maximum. All the utensils, pots and pans etc are more than adequate, however be prepared to bring/buy extra items like more dishwasher tablets, foil and kitchen roll if you plan to make meals at the cottage as we did. Also extra loo roll! That said this is a minor point, which does not detract from the fact that we had a wonderful stay and would definitely recommend. It is a shame there is no garden, but we knew that before we booked. Previous reviews have mentioned that their is no need to leave the area, which is something we can associate with. We bought a book from the local Co-Op, for walks from Elterwater, which is the best £3.50 you could spend!

Vince H.
19 Jul 2016

Excellent base for a walking or touring holiday A small fronted terraced cottage on the edge of Elterwater village provided luxury, well proportioned, accommodation inside. The open plan lounge, diner and high spec kitchen was the perfect environment for us to cook, eat, chill and relax and provided lots of space for us to do our thing. The provision of a good quality 42" TV and DVD player along with the usual Freeview TV channels and high speed internet via Wifi for computer/tablet access kept us occupied in the evening.At the end of the day the king sized beds provided a really good nights sleep.
We found two pubs in the village (Brittania Inn ) and Wainwrights? at Chapel Stile to be right on our doorstep along with a Cafe in the village and a well stocked Co-op store within a quarter of a mile for provisions.
Around 3 miles to Ambleside with Windermere and Bowness beyond this was a perfect touring base for access to the towns, boats on the lake and more. We found plenty of walks from the cottage to Little Langdale, Ambleside and Coniston. Local walks to Skelwith Bridge now benefit from additional good quality paths by the riverside being provided by the local authorities and National Trust.All in all a fantastic holiday base!

Ian & Janette
27 Jun 2016

Great cottage in a beautiful village. The cottage was all Alun the owner had promised, a great dog friendly home from home., it had all mod cons in the kitchen and living room. Bedrooms and bathroom were spacious which was great as we also took our son and his girlfriend.
We ate out every evening at the Brittania pub which was a fantastic dog friendly eatery, just 150yards away.
The village in itself was a great base for walking and seeing the lakes.
Will def. be returning.

Glyn P.
22 Jun 2016

Village position - Great! Excellent cottage. Brilliant facilities. Stunning location. Fabulous walks nearby. An enjoyable stay!

Mrs Mary Sealey
14 Jun 2016

The perfect base to enjoy the Lake District Townfoot Cottage in Elterwater was the perfect base to enjoy the Lake District whether going high on the fells or just enjoying the valleys and villages. We found it to be a very clean well presented holiday cottage, comfortable - especially the beds which can let some places down! We didn't have to travel far to find great pubs, the Britannia Inn and Wainwright's within walking distance. Fantastic cafes, Chester's at Skelwith Bridge in particular and everywhere dog friendly always a bonus when the weather in England can be unpredictable. Handy walks straight from the cottage door to exercise the dogs and great outlook on to the glorious Lakeland fells. Already planning our next trip!

Claire G.
28 May 2016

Beautiful cottage, great location We had a lovely stay in Elterwater. The cottage is beautiful and its location is perfect, there are lots of local ambles, as well as mountains to climb. 10 minute drive from Ambleside. The cottage itself brilliantly equipped with brand new cooker, and log fire. Downstairs was a little cold in the morning until we contacted the owner who quickly rectified it remotely. We would definitely stay again if we were to return to the area.

Philip S.
07 May 2016

Elterwater - Lakeland's best kept secret Well equipped cottage in a great location. Lovely local Inn, great hotel restaurant and little cafe in the village plus another great Inn and fantastic store half a mile up the river path in Chapel Style. Surrounded by beautiful scenery and walking to suit all abilities straight from the door. We didn't need to move the car all week. Great holiday.

Kim r.
24 Mar 2016

Fantastic cottage. Fantastic cottage, well equipped, very clean and cozy. Loved by 3 humans and 2 dogs!. Elterwater lovely village with great pub and cafe. Nearby village has shop post office and even better pub.looking forward to returning with other family members.

Nichola M.
12 Mar 2016

Fantastic stay in a beautiful cottage We had an amazing stay here. The cottage is lovely, with everything you need and more. I really didn't want to leave at the end of our week and look forward to returning again soon.

Charles R.
28 Feb 2016

Very well appointed and presented cottage Great location for walking and excellent facilities in this delightful cottage.

Howard M.
04 Feb 2016

Lovely cottage. Lovely location We loved it! All mod cons in the cottage. Very cosy with the log burner roaring away with a good view of the snowy hills outside. Elterwater is a good starting point for many a walk. Try Wainwright's pub for good food and drink.

Jamie W.
22 Jan 2016

Luxurious but cosy cottage in perfect setting Very relaxing stay in lovely cottage. Well equipped with extremely comfortable beds.Plenty of walks straight from the door , great pubs with good food in walking distance . When we had a problem with the boiler the owner was there to sort it within 20 minutes which is impressive customer service .

Fiona R.
01 Dec 2015