The Lake District and its peaks

The Lake District, also commonly known as The Lakes or Lakeland, is a mountainous region in North West England. The Lake District is a popular holiday destination, it is famous not only for its lakes, forests and mountains (or fells), but also for its associations with Beatrix Potter and the early 19th-century poetry and writings of William Wordsworth.

The Lake District National Park is England’s largest and covers 2292 square kilometres or 885 square miles.

The ten highest mountains in The Lake District are (click on the name for the location):

Scafell Pike at 978 metres (3210 feet)

Scafell Pike Lake District

Sca Fell at 964 metres (3162 feet)

Sca Fell Lake District

Helvellyn at 950 metres (3114 feet)

Helvellyn Lake District

Skiddaw at 931 metres (3053 feet)

Skiddaw Lake District

Great End at 910 metres (2986 feet)

Great End Lake District

Bowfell at 902 metres (2940 feet)

Bowfell Lake District

Great Gable at 899 metres (2960 feet)

Great Gable Lake District

Pillar at 892 metres (2926 feet)

Pillar Lake District

Nethermost Pike at 891 metres (2923 feet)

Nethermost Pike Lake District

Catstycam at 891 metres (2917 feet)

Catstycam Lake District

There are at least 200 fell tops. The writer Alfred Wainwright wrote about 214. His list can be found here.

The 16 largest Lake District lakes are:
Windermere – 14.8 square kilometres
Ullswater – 8.9 square kilometres
Derwentwater – 5.5 square kilometres
Bassenthwaite Lake – 5.3 square kilometres
Coniston Water – 4.0 square kilometres
Haweswater – 3.9 square kilometres
Thirlmere – 3.3  square kilometres
Ennerdale Water – 3 square kilometres
Wastwater – 2.9  square kilometres
Crummock Water – 2.5 square kilometres
Esthwaite Water – 1 square kilometre
Buttermere – 0.9 square kilometres
Grasmere – 0.6 square kilometres
Loweswater – 0.6 square kilometres
Rydal Water – 0.3 square kilometres
Brotherswater – 0.2 square kilometres

The word local Lake District “Tarn” comes from the Old Norse word for ‘pool’. It usually refers to a small mountain lake or pool. However as some tarns are larger than lakes, it’s not an exact science! Here are some of the larger ones (click on the name for the location):
Blea Tarn
Overwater Tarn
Stickle Tarn
Tarn Hows
Watendlath Tarn
Yew Tree Tarn

The deepest lake in England is Wastwater at 74 metres (243 feet). England’s longest lake is Windermere, in The Lake District, which is 10.5 miles long. There is only one official lake – Bassenthwaite Lake. All the others are ‘meres’ or ‘waters’.


If you’d like to book one of our holiday cottages for your holiday (walking or otherwise!), please contact us or visit the pages for : Townfoot Cottage and Townfoot Farmhouse

The Lake District